Skip to content

more more doors doors

30 June 2010

We have more doors! Joey has been working tirelessly to get doors and shelves up so that I can load up these cabinets finally [our stack remains until then] Getting all these doors and faces and reveals to all line up perfectly is a bit of a challenge, but it will be worth all the hard work – they look awesome already!

As you can see, still no microwave… Samsung, you are really testing my patience…

I can’t wait til this kitchen is complete… With all that’s been going on in our lives, it’s taken a tad bit longer than expected. I think that will be the case with all our home renovation endeavors. Especially with a husband who sets mighty ambitious [and a little unrealistic] schedule goals. I’m pretty sure when we started this project, he said “we’ll have this done in TWO weeks!” Surely he wasn’t serious. Gotta love him.

We are already looking ahead a couple of weeks to our next side project. PAINT! Joey’s parents are so graciously spending a whole week here in Raleigh to help us paint the exterior. Joey’s dad is a painting pro who has gotten lots of practice on his own house in Florida. Before they get here, we hope to strip and prime all the wood trim on the exterior. We have determined that the siding does not need to be stripped and can just be painted over. The trim on the other hand has a ton of peeling, then painted over, now peeling again, paint so we decided it would be best to start from scratch on that. Joey will be bringing this rockstar home from work each night so that can be accomplished.

Isn’t she pretty? I’m hoping she behaves and doesn’t catch our house on fire… Shaun was a sport and helped us out last weekend. He made it 2/3 of the way down the length of the house on the piece of wood that sits on top of the foundation. We need help like this more often!  Hopefully we can bribe him to our house more often with yummy Mellow Mushroom pizza that is within walking distance.

I think we’ve decided to go with grey for the exterior. Hopefully our house won’t be too bland when we get done. Still haven’t decided on an actual color yet but it will probably be in the medium to dark grey range. I went to the hardware store the other day to pick out some colors and I found this which I think will be perfect for the chairs!  If you haven’t heard, I’m a big fan of green :)

This weekend, we take a break from house renovations and head to Kentucky to my Aunt’s new lake house! I love long weekends and this one is going to be great! It quickly turned into a Cuban family reunion with our cousins from Kansas deciding to join in on the fun. My parents are renting an RV. Yes, roadtrip style. It will definitely be a blast! Boyfriends are coming who we’ve never met before [but heard lots of good things about] one of which has actually agreed to fly to Nashville, spend the night with us at Greg’s and ride up with us the 2.5 hr trek to the lake. We have agreed to haze. Gracie and our vacuum are coming and I know she’s going to have a blast! I have already bought some snacks [but have determined we need more] and made of list of things I can’t forget! I can’t believe it’s here already! We’ve been planning this for a whole 3 weeks [yes that’s how we Hale’s do things] I am so excited about the weekend, but probably most excited about seeing my wonderful wombmate for the first time since she got engaged!! I can’t wait to give her a big hug and have some time to catch up face to face. We have already decided to kick the boys to the couch on Friday night for this reason [just kidding Greg]  :) We haven’t seen each other since May 15th [really?!! not acceptable] so I’m ready. Joey and I did book flights out to Austin on our birthday weekend to visit before she leaves that fun city. I will be ready for her to be back within driving distance since we all know how I feel about flying……

Leave a Reply

