Skip to content

before and after

20 July 2010

Ok short post tonight because this little girl is tired. But you would be too if you did this today…

I love a good before and after. Before is to the left of the door, after is to the right. This before and after makes me laugh because we are actually making the house look much worse in an effort to eventually make it look better [much better]. After a morning spent on housework and gardening [I say that loosely because I am NOT a gardener. I hadn’t the first clue what to do in the yard] But I learned today how to properly transplant an azalea bush. Now I have to remember to water it everyday so that maybe they will grow instead of die like the ones they are replacing… my record of plants I’ve killed versus plants I’ve kept alive does not favor the plants….

Joey’s mom and Brodie did a great job cleaning up the yard and laying down mulch. Our yard looks so much better now – and hopefully I’ve picked up a few tips on how to keep a yard looking good. Mr. Fante hacked away almost any living plants in our yard today – all the while trying to calm my scared look by saying “don’t worry, it will grow back!” Maybe I just need to be braver with my shears. We made an agreement about the vine plant on the left corner of our house. I like it and he promised to at least leave 60% of it…. Right now, it is laying flat out in our yard so we can clean and paint the column it was attached to.

On a different note, we determined yesterday that the 6′ ladder that Mr. Fante brought was not going to be sufficient for our needs this week. So after a little online research, Joey’s dad was off to the HD to get a 13′ multifunction ladder for $99. He came back with this. A 17′ multifunction ladder for $90! Mr. Fante was smiling really big as he pulled up to our house with his find and Joey’s smile was just a big when he saw his new toy. In case you were wondering, this ladder folds in half to be a step ladder (at varying heights), extends out to be a 13′ extension ladder and also breaks in half to be 2 bases for a walk plank (make-shift scaffolding). It’s pretty awesome. And now it’s ours. Joey has probably already pulled out his sharpie to put his name on it. He usually scribes J.Fante on everything and I told him that now that that is also my name, I can claim any of his tools…. He is just sad that it is not unique to him anymore. So here is the picture finally of a proud Pops and son with the new ladder.

I continued working on the porch getting all the old siding off and exposing the lovely yellow cedar shakes and found a few interesting things along the way.

Anyone notice that puppy face peeking out the window wondering if I am going to come inside and play with her? She will wait patiently until that time.

After a full days worth of work in the yard and on the siding, this is what the front of our house looked like at the end of the day on Monday.

See Momma?! We wear masks during clean up! Safety first here at the Fante residence.

Today (Tuesday) was spent with our new friend, the pressure washer. Mrs Fante and I went and picked her up around 11 and spent the remainder of the day spraying every inch of our house. It’s amazing how much dirt gets caked on underneath old siding. After about 5 minutes, I was soaking wet, and covered in paint chips and dirt. Mrs Fante even got into the action by working on our patio furniture.

That’s all for tonight folks. I am tired as I spent the better part of the day in a stance similar to Joey’s above trying to not get knocked over while washing the walls, ceilings, porch floors, rafter tails, etc… I feel like I’ve been leaning forward while I walked the rest of the day…. Maybe this has something to do with it? Just don’t show me our water bill this month please…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Keely permalink
    21 July 2010 2:02 pm

    Yay! You guys are making such great progress! My dad bought us the same mulit ladder on his last visit…I swear watching men shop for toys has got to be one the best/funniest things ever. :) Now we just need to put ours to good use like you guys. Keep it up! Can’t wait to see it all painted.

Leave a Reply

