Skip to content

a little of this and a little of that

29 July 2010

a lot has gone on in North Carolina and Alabama this past week.  I left the Fante family at our home last Thursday and made the 8 hour trek to Birmingham to join this girl on her weekend o’ wedding planning. This is what she looked like most of the weekend. :) love ya sis

ok so as I sit here and type this post, I am getting harassed by someone about not posting anything this last week!  Maybe I like to keep you on the edge of your seat, missy!  :)  Just in case you were wondering who I am speaking of, wait no longer….

I don’t want to risk losing any of my few readers, so I didn’t choose the most embarrassing picture on my computer… you are welcome rousey :)  I am glad you are so excited about seeing the progress on our house – it does make me happy! but I have to give you a little bit of grief…

Before I left for my trip to Alabama, we all went to a Durham Bulls game. We had a good time and a random person took our picture to prove it.

ok so now let’s move on to the stuff that everyone wants to see :)  I left on Thursday to a house that was probably scaring people as they drove by… But thanks to the Fante rents and my amazing husband, I came back on Monday to siding that had been patched with wood putty, sanded and primed and most importantly, PAINTED! Don’t get too excited, the paint is only on the front. The cedar siding needed a lot of loving before it could be painted. What rockstars! I was so impressed.

Shaun and I worked on the front yesterday afternoon and he managed to finish the whole left side. I on the other hand, only finished the final coat on the door frame. I like to consider myself careful and meticulous… at least it makes me feel better! I snapped a photo as we were heading out the door for dinner with Leigh and DJ. Sorry for the poor quality – I have to stand in the road to get the entire front of the house and a car was coming…

The fun thing about this project, since our house is on a main street in Raleigh, is that we have so many people stopping to talk about what we are up to. Our friend, Will, drove by the other day and promptly called Joey to tell him that he was coming over on Saturday with a paintbrush to help us out! What great friends we have! I had a long conversation with Joe the mailman the other day about the work we are doing. He said he couldn’t believe someone would cover up the cedar shakes with siding! Me too Joe, me too. We also had a couple stop by while on a walk and ask what color we had decided for the door. Right now we are trying to decide between the 2 colors on the left. The turquoise and the greenish yellow. Whichever one we don’t choose will go on the chairs. It’s been really fun to get to know the neighbors more while we talk about our house. This sweet old lady stopped by yesterday and told me that I should put the paintbrush in the fridge so I don’t have to wash them out.

Right now, we are going to focus on the cedar shakes and widow trim all the way around the house, and then little by little, we will replace the siding above and below the windows. The Fante’s are coming back in a month (this time just for the weekend) so we’ll see how far we get before then. Maybe we’ll come up with some other ridiculous project for them to help out on….

I will leave you today with a bridesmaids dress option for Sarah’s wedding. Isn’t it cute?!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    30 July 2010 2:48 pm

    Such a cute bridesmaid dress!! You’re going to be the best matron of honor! :)

    Also, I choose the green for the front door. Make a statement!

  2. Jessica permalink
    30 July 2010 3:09 pm

    LOVE the bridesmaid dress. Also, my vote is for the teal door color.

  3. Keely permalink
    30 July 2010 6:10 pm

    hahahaha. oh rousey. the house is looking super duper! i like the green too.

Leave a Reply

