Skip to content

a canon and a closet

22 January 2011

look what I got for Christmas…

Joey and I got many great and wonderful things for Christmas – but I have to say, I was secretly most excited about this present from my mom. She sure knows how to shop for her kiddies :) She even tossed in an old wide angle lens that she doesn’t use that much anymore. Thanks momma for the super awesome camera! I love it! Now, can you teach me how to use it?!

If you look past the amazingness that is my new Canon, can you tell where I’m standing? Our new closet that I never showed you! Sometimes I forget where I left off in my blogging and assume you know about things that you don’t. Sorry bout that.

So let’s recap. Back in October, I walked in the door to our house one day and found our not so great looking closet system looking especially bad.

We started weeding through the mess, and were forced to add ‘closet’ to the list of the many functions of that other room that they told us should be a bedroom in our house.

We had talked about rebuilding that closet system so that it was more efficient, better organized, and most importantly – prettier. We organized our thoughts on the design and headed to HD to get some supplies. A few weeks later [yes, we had a lot of other projects going on too] we had the system constructed on our front porch – truly a welcome sight for our neighbors…

Next step was primer and to put it back in the closet where it belongs.

We then installed the rest of the system and I got to work painting the insides of the cubbies blue. It is actually the same blue that we bought for the porch ceiling – Benjamin Moore’s Summer Showers.

Here is the piece [almost] ready to be loaded up. A few more touchups and cleaning and we were in business.

top shelf for Joey:

bottom shelf for Jen:

Oh and before we got to this point, Joey decided he wanted to float out that entire back wall with new drywall mud. It needed some love after that epic closet fail. It looks so wonderful and smooth now – too bad we covered most of it up with our clothes.

We picked up some new storage boxes from the Charlotte Ikea on our way back from Birmingham one weekend and I think they are a great addition to the closet. I just realized sitting here now that I bought and assembled 8 boxes and have only managed to put stuff in 1 of them…. I guess I should get on that. Lord knows I have plenty of nonsense to put in those boxes.

So there you have it – our completed closet. It makes me happy every time I walk into it. What do yall think?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meghan permalink
    22 January 2011 1:05 pm

    I like that you include the names of the paint colors- very helpful! Yay for organization!

  2. 23 January 2011 10:20 pm

    I am officially jealous of your camera! It looks great! I look forward to seeing all your beautiful photography in the future.

    Closet looks awesome! I will eventually accept that you strayed from my design :) I love the blue on the inside of the shelves. What a nice touch!

Leave a Reply

