Skip to content

is there even anything left to paint?

11 March 2012

Apparently so!

Raise your hand if you are sick of seeing us paint.

[If you’re wondering, I’m raising my hand…]

I don’t think I even showed you the front of our house with the siding up top all done and painted. Well, here it is for anyone that is still interested!

It may not be 100% complete, but it’s a far cry better than what we started with.

in my opinion, at least…

Since we are going down Memory Lane, let’s compare some more photos – just cause it’s fun and makes me feel accomplished! :)

Here’s the kitchen now

and here’s what we were dealing with when we moved in.

the living room has come a long way too

I loved our house when we bought it, but good grief it has come a long way in almost 3 years!

Ok, we can now go back to talking about the never-ending painting projects at our house…

A couple of weekends ago, Joey decided that he was going to tackle the front porch ceiling. There were so many layers of paint on that old ceiling, that the bead board was almost disappearing. Plus, there’s something not so comforting about eating dinner under flaking paint…

Joey scraped and scraped and eventually rigged up two heat guns on a 2×4 so that his arms didn’t fall off.

After a few days of hard work, he had the entire ceiling ready for paint.

I kinda like the way this looks all scraped down to the raw wood.

But I REALLY love the way it looks freshly painted in Benjamin Moore’s “Summer Showers”.

Have you heard about painting your porch ceilings blue? If you live around older homes, take a look next time you pass one. There are deep historical roots to blue porch ceilings. While there may be several theories as to its origins, my favorite is the “extension of the sky” theory. Although, I wouldn’t mind a few less mosquitos this summer…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 12 March 2012 8:58 am

    Such progress! I love it!

    I also love Joey’s heat gun contraption. Brilliant!

    That porch looks quite inviting for the upcoming spring and summer. I might have to come check it out in person :)

  2. 12 March 2012 12:16 pm

    Wow! Love the transformations! The blue porch ceiling is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

