Skip to content

ch-ch-ch-ch-changes!

27 July 2012

Hello, July!

Ummm really?! where did April, May and June go?

Don’t let my internet silence make you think that things have slowed down one bit here in Raleigh. In fact, they have only gotten crazier.

For starters, I was recruited for – and began – a new job in March and April! I worked for almost a year at the same design-build firm as Joey, but now work for a different design-build firm in Durham, NC. I have really enjoyed seeing a completely different style of design-build process. There aren’t too many firms doing this type of work, but I think it is where Joey and I have found our niche. Both firms focus primarily on residential design – something we both love. I miss seeing Joey intermittently throughout the day and our daily lunch dates at home with Gracie, but I know the experience I am gaining through this new job will be crucial in my career development. That makes the 25 mile commute more tolerable!  I recently had my website photo taken, so keep an eye out for yours truly to grace the “About us” page. Miss Gracie will even get some screen time on the website as well!

The transition and adjustment to the new job’s schedule took a toll on me during those first few weeks. I was EXHAUSTED! I think I even told Joey at one point that I thought my new job was killing me… (a little dramatic, I know!)

Turns out, it wasn’t only my newly elongated working hours that was making me so exhausted. This little guy or gal may have had something to do with it…

That’s right! Casa Fante will be growing by one (only one) this December!

Joey and I couldn’t be more thrilled about this news and are already counting down the weeks until we get to meet our little munchkin!

As for me, aside from complete exhaustion during my first trimester, I have felt great. Everyone who knows me, knows I love me some sleep, so even the exhaustion wasn’t so bad in the grand scheme of things. Joey has been so far beyond helpful and supportive that words cannot even describe it. He’s cooked, he’s cleaned, he’s kept up house projects, joined all of our appointments – seriously, amazing. When I lay down at night, I look over and thank the Lord for giving me a man who loves me so completely, and for the gift of this child we have together. It truly has been such an amazing process so far.

Over the past couple weeks, I have started to feel the little baby movements inside me and Joey actually was able to feel a big ninja kick last week! Feeling the baby and seeing my belly expanding has definitely made this whole “we’re pregnant” thing a million times more real.

I am officially past the halfway mark at this point and so thankful for this little miracle that we are witnessing grow everyday. Can’t wait to meet you in December, little one!

Unless the Lord builds the house, the builders labor in vain. Unless the Lord watches over the city, the guards stand watch in vain. In vain you rise early and stay up late, toiling for food to eat—for he grants sleep to those he loves. Children are a heritage from the Lord, offspring a reward from him. Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are children born in one’s youth. Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them. They will not be put to shame when they contend with their opponents in court. Psalm 127

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alicia Pughsley permalink
    28 July 2012 9:23 am

    Congratulations!!!!!! So excited for you guys! You’re going to be wonderful parents! :)

    • 28 July 2012 10:20 pm

      thanks, Alicia!! we are pretty pumped! congrats on your little one too :)

  2. Rob permalink
    6 August 2012 9:33 pm

    the link doesnt work btw. tried to go find you on the website and it said the link was dead or something

Leave a Reply

